Skip to main content

2015 Alumni Achievement Awards

The Alumni Achievement Awards recognise Curtin graduates who are making significant contributions to society. This could be through the national or international community, in personal achievements or through their career. There are a number of categories in which alumni can be nominated:

Congratulations to our winners

old photo of a couple at a dinner table

2015 Alumni Award recipients and representatives with Vice-Chancellor, Professor Deborah Terry

2015 award recipients

Lifetime Achievement Award

Open to all Curtin graduates who, over the course of their lifetime, have built an outstanding reputation based on exceptional contributions to their field of endeavour and/or the community and inspired others to strive for excellence. This is the most prestigious and highest honour award of all the Alumni Achievement Awards.

Winner: Gnanaletchumy (Jega) Jegasothy

Community Service Award

Open to all Curtin graduates who have contributed significantly to the wellbeing of others through voluntary service in the community, either locally or globally.

Winner: Dr Sandy Chong

Young Alumnus Award

Open to Curtin graduates aged 30 years or under at the time of nomination, who have demonstrated excellence in their field of endeavour, and/or made a significant contribution to the community through volunteer service.

Winner: Ashleigh Nelson

Global Impact Award

Open to all Curtin graduates who, through outstanding professional contributions and/or volunteer leadership, have contributed significantly to society by improving or enriching the lives of others and the welfare of humanity, on an international scale. This may include, but is not limited to, contributions through a project, on behalf of an organisation or work during relief efforts.

Winner: Dr Mariya Ali

Volunteer Leadership Award

Open to all Curtin graduates who have demonstrated a significant contribution to Curtin University, including alumni chapters/associations, through the donation of their time, resources, committee membership or as an ambassador/advocate for Curtin, above and beyond their career responsibilities.

Winner: Joerex Tsang

Professional Achievement Awards

Open to all Curtin graduates who have demonstrated outstanding accomplishments in their field of endeavour, and have strived to set a standard of excellence in their professional field. One award per faculty – Curtin Business School, Health Sciences, Humanities and Science & Engineering.

Theerasak (Beer) Opatsuwan (Science and Engineering)
Michael Turkic (Humanities)
Peter Lee (Humanities)
Andrew Whitehouse (Health Sciences)
Joachim Tan (Curtin Business School)

Photos from the 2015 Alumni Achievement Awards are available to view here.